Sumitra Bhave, National Award Winner and Marathi filmmaker, dies at 78, leaves behind wealthy legacy of movies | People News

New Delhi: In a tragic flip of occasions, famous Marathi filmmaker and National Award Winner Sumitra Bhave breathed her final on Monday (April 19, 2021). According to experiences, 
the acclaimed filmmaker handed away on the age of 78, because of health points. However, an official assertion hasn’t been launched but.

Bhave, an exemplary filmmaker, leaves behind a legacy of socially aware movies that made audiences ponder real-world points. She gained a number of National Awards for her movies as properly.

Before beginning out as a director, she was a professor on the Karve Institute of Social Service, Pune for 10 years. Later, she shifted to Mumbai and labored as a Project Manager for Community Aid and Sponsorship Program. 

She additionally labored as a Marathi language newsreader with All India Radio, New Delhi.

Sumitra Bhave’s most notable works

Bhave made her directorial debut with the movie ‘Bai’ which instructed the story of a lady residing within the slums and preventing to outlive. The quick movie was extremely praised and
acquired the National Film Award for Best Non-Feature Film on Family Welfare on the thirty third National Film Awards.

Critics had been in awe of the lifelike portrayal of the plight of the poor in her movie, in addition to the portrayal of an impartial lady which was uncommon on the time.

Bhave’s second movie ‘Paani’, launched in 1987, additionally gained a National Film Award for the Best Educational / Motivational / Instructional Film on the thirty fifth National Film Awards.

The proficient director went on to make a sequence of quick movies after her first two hits akin to – Mukti, Chakori, Three Faces of Tomorrow, Laha, Vaastupurush, Kaasav, Samhita, Astu and Devrai.

She can also be mentioned to be one of many people who modified the panorama of Marathi cinema.

For her immense contribution to the Marathi cinematic world and literature, Bhave was bestowed with a Chitra Ratna Puraskar and Kamdhenu Award.

Related Articles

Back to top button