Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Assam

Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has been elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Assam on Monday. Sonowal was the one candidate for the seat from Assam and on the final day of his withdrawal, the returning officer declared him elected to the Upper House of Parliament. On the other hand, after the withdrawal of the identify of the BJP candidate, it has been determined to elect Rajni Patil of Congress to the Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra.

With this, the ruling BJP’s tally within the Rajya Sabha from Assam has elevated to a few, while its ally Asom Gana Parishad holds one seat within the Rajya Sabha. There are a complete of seven Rajya Sabha seats in Assam, out of which two seats are with the Congress and one seat is held by an unbiased member.

Sonowal alongside with Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and State BJP President Bhabesh Kalita took the election certificates from the Returning Officer from the State Legislative Assembly premises within the afternoon. After this, Sonowal mentioned that he will proceed to work for the betterment of the state and the people. He additionally thanked the BJP management, together with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, National President JP Nadda, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and the Chief Minister of Assam, for his or her help.

Sonowal was inducted into Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s cupboard in July because the Minister of Ports, Shipping and AYUSH. This made it crucial for him to change into an MP. The seat for which former Chief Minister Sonowal had filed his nomination fell vacant because of the resignation of Assam Legislative Assembly Speaker Biswajit Daimary from the Upper House. Demri had resigned from the Upper House after being elected within the meeting elections.

Sonowal was additionally elected to the Legislative Assembly from Majuli for the second consecutive time in May, however returned to New Delhi after Himanta Biswa Sarma grew to become the Chief Minister. The opposition events had determined to not discipline any candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat as they didn’t have adequate numbers. In the 126-member Assam Legislative Assembly, the ruling BJP has 60 MLAs. This quantity will come all the way down to 59 after Sonowal is elected to the Rajya Sabha. BJP’s ally AGP has 9 MLAs and UPPL has 5.

On the other hand, forward of the Rajya Sabha by-elections in Maharashtra, BJP on Monday withdrew its candidate, after which senior Congress chief Rajni Patil is about to be elected unopposed to the Upper House. After the dying of Congress MP Rajiv Satav in May, it grew to become crucial to carry a by-election on this seat. His time period within the Upper House was until April 2, 2026.

The final date for withdrawal of nomination papers for the by-elections to be held on the 4th of subsequent month was September 27. BJP had fielded Sanjay Upadhyay for this by-election and now he has been faraway from the election fray. After this, the street to Rajya Sabha has opened for Patil (62) to be elected unopposed. Only two candidates have been within the fray for this seat.

Sanjay Upadhyay mentioned that the Congress leaders within the state had appealed to the BJP to withdraw the candidates so that the Congress candidates might be elected unopposed. He mentioned, “I have withdrawn my nomination on the instructions of the party, the decision to withdraw my candidature was taken in the state BJP core committee meeting.”

Last week, Maharashtra Congress President Nana Patole and Minister Balasaheb Thorat met Leader of Opposition within the Assembly Devendra Fadnavis urging him to make means for Patil’s election unopposed. There are 288 members within the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, out of which the Bharatiya Janata Party has 106 seats. Patil is the candidate of the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi within the state, which is led by Shiv Sena.

You might like